The Haymarket in Boston

Today was an errand day, which can be tedious.  However, one of my stops included the Haymarket by Faneuil Hall.  This market has been around since the 1800s.  I love going to this open air farmers market since I never know what I’m going to find.  If you are visiting Boston and you want to part of a crazy shopping experience I highly recommend the Haymarket.

There are some rules.  Most sellers will yell at you for handling the produce.  If you really piss them off, they will throw your money back at you and ban you from their stand.  This has not happened to me, but I have witnessed it a few times and I’ll admit that it is amusing.

It is usually pretty crowded and there is some pushing and shoving.

Many people bring their carts and this presents more challenges when passing people.

The market is open every Friday and Saturday during the daylight hours.  My advice: don’t buy the first good deal you see.  Look around and compare prices with quality.  More than once I have felt burned.  For example, I have purchased an eggplant for a dollar and then turned the corner and found two eggplants for a $1.50.

And if you are feeling adventuresome, they also have a fish market.  For the first couple of years I was wary to try the fish.  Something about buying fish that had been sitting out all day gave me the willies.  Then a few weeks ago I bought some Haddock and it was delicious.  A major plus, everyone in my household survived.

I try to go to the Haymarket a couple times a month, even in the winter.  If you go I hope you love this Boston experience.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Boston, Healthy Living, North America and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

