Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

I am really late to this week’s photo challenge party.  Here is my entry for journey.  The picture below always makes me giggle.  We landed here to drop off a couple who was on their way to a lodge.  However, their ride was not there and our pilot didn’t want to leave them alone.  There was only a dirt runway.  No building or anything for the couple to wait in.  And there was a group of Wildebeests at the end of the runway.  Of course our pilot had an issue since we were on our way to Maun airport to catch a flight.   Our schedule was tight.  In order to get reception he had to climb on top of the plane.

As it turned out, the couple’s ride was just minutes away.  We arrived in time at Maun for our next flight.   It was all good.

Our pilot trying to make contact:

The wildebeests.  Sorry the photo isn’t that close.  My big camera was packed on the plane.  But I think it gives you an idea why the pilot didn’t want to abandon the couple.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Africa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

  1. dadirri7 says:

    this journey was full of excitement and great fun to share …. good shot of the pilot on the plane!

  2. scrapydo says:

    Interesting situation.

  3. niasunset says:

    I loved this first photograph :) Thank you dear TBM, you have full of exciting travel photographs, always fascinates me… Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Nia! I do enjoy the excitement of travel and I also enjoy my quiet time at home with my family. It is a nice balance. Most of my days are quite boring and I love it. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. This is a perfect photo for the “journey” theme!

  5. Beth Ann says:

    What a great photo!!! Glad that the pilot had sense to not abandon the couple!!! That could have turned out badly!!! Love your travel pictures!

    • TBM says:

      It was funny because the couple didn’t seem to mind. I would have been like, you aren’t leaving us here! But it worked out. Maybe they knew the routine. I was a newbie to this whole dirt runway thing.

      • Beth Ann says:

        Oh yea—I would have been freaking out!!! I guess maybe the world wide travelers don’t quite handle it the same way!!!

      • TBM says:

        I don’t know if I’ll every get to that comfort level and be like, “Yeah, I just sit here with a herd of wildebeests. I’m sure no lions are around.”

  6. Frank says:

    Oh the challenges life elsewhere bring.

  7. Fergiemoto says:

    I feel both excitement and tension! Glad this part of the journey worked out for everyone. I wouldn’t want to be left alone there with wildebeests close by.

  8. Robin says:

    Now THAT is quite a journey. :)

  9. What a great travel story. Thanks for sharing! ;)

  10. zelmare says:

    Africa…perfect place for exciting journeys! :)

  11. Novroz says:

    Sorry for liking the first photo ore than the wilderbeast ;)

  12. I was meaning to join this challenge but as per usual life got in the way. These are lovely photographs for the weekly challenge, perhaps next week, we can join the fun. :)

  13. Madhu says:

    What excitement! Cool entry!

  14. The Hook says:

    What’s life without a little adventure, right?

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

