Happy Birthday!

002

St. Paul’s on a rainy night.

This past weekend we celebrated The Better Half’s birthday, who didn’t come down with the flu even though we thought that was a possibility. I would have felt like a real schmuck if I gave TBH the flu as a gift. We don’t exchange gifts on our birthdays but we have started a tradition. We dedicate a weekend to celebrate. The birthday person gets to make all of the decisions of where we go and what we do.

On Friday night we went to Yo! Sushi, the one located next to St. Paul’s Cathedral. For those not familiar with the restaurant it’s a fun place. They place the food on little plates and they zip around the restaurant on a conveyor belt. If you see something you like, just grab the plate and dig in.

009

I don’t like to take risks, so I started with dessert.

010

The different colors of the plates indicate the price.

011

Since the better half had a little bit of a sore throat I ordered some warm Sake, a Japanese drink made from fermented rice. It hit the spot on a rainy night in London.

005

 

014

After some sake you may need to use the kiddie chopsticks.

 That was the start to the birthday bash. This Friday I’ll review one of the places we went to.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

006Now I need some time to recover from all of the fun.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in London and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Happy Birthday!

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Happy belated birthday to your hubby! Everything looks delicious 🙂

  2. You started out with dessert!!!! I knew there was a reason why we get along so well :). Happy Birthday to the Better Half, and I can’t wait to hear about the rest of his birthday weekend!

  3. bocafrau says:

    We had a similar place open up around here recently. The food court,es around on little boats in a water type conveyer. Looks like a good start to a birthday celebration. I prefer my sake cold. Happy Birthday to the better half.

  4. Happy Birthday to him! My wife and I have always done something similar in that we celebrate our “birthday week”. We do little special things for one another to try to make the birthday stretch out and be more than just the day. It is a fun tradition and I’m glad to know we are not the only ones who do so.

    • TBM says:

      A whole week–I might try to work on that. I think it’s important that our loved ones know how much we love them. we don’t really want things. For me, I enjoy spending time. Most of the days both of us are so busy that we don’t really get quality time together. We are trying to get better about taking breaks and focusing on what’s important. Life isn’t just about work deadlines, cleaning the house, and such.

  5. Caroline says:

    It looks as if you had a wonderful culinary celebration. Happy Birthday to TBH.

    • TBM says:

      It was a nice start to the weekend. I new to the place, but I enjoyed it. I love that they have so many vegetarian options. I’m not one, but I don’t eat a lot of meat either.

  6. niasunset says:

    Happy Birthday to The Better Half, seems that it was a wonderful celebration and I would have started with dessert too 🙂 Thank you dear TBM, have a nice week, love, nia

  7. Looks and sounds expensive?

  8. The Hook says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Better Half!

  9. Belated greetings to TBH – sounds like you had a wonderful time!

  10. Angeline M says:

    Sounds like a perfect weekend. We so that as well, it’s a great tradition!
    I might need the kiddie chopsticks after sake as well 🙂

  11. Northern Narratives says:

    A wonderful tradition. Happy Birthday to The Better Half.

  12. Great tradition. I think it sounds like way more fun than presents.

  13. letizia says:

    I used to go to Yo!Sushi all the time when I lived in London; fun to relive nice memories (and I just love that you started with dessert!). How wonderful to dedicate a weekend to each other rather than just exchanging gifts.

  14. Lucid Gypsy says:

    We have a Yo Sushi but I haven’t been, I’m sure I could ONLY eat dessert!

  15. Good move starting with dessert. They have kiddie chopsticks? I should have learned with those. 🙂
    Happy Birthday to The Better Half!

    • TBM says:

      I didn’t notice them at first but when I saw someone else using the kiddie chopsticks I gave them a whirl. I’m trying to master adult ones, but it does get difficult as the night goes one.

  16. Happy Birthday to the hubs. Dessert looks like the perfect start. I’m considering a ‘pots de creme’ recipe for my husband at Valentine’s. And the sushi rolls make the sugar in the dessert seem reasonable. Yeah!

  17. that’s a great birthday tradition.

  18. pattisj says:

    Dessert looks yummy! Glad your better half didn’t come down with the flu.

  19. Guilezilla says:

    What do TBM and TBH mean?

  20. Beth Ann says:

    Catching up today!!! Happy belated birthday to TBH and hopefully the sake helped!!! 🙂 I love the good luck kitty at the end—-I wanted to get one when we were in China but I never did. I may have to get one on Amazon. 🙂 That restaurant sounds like a lot of fun!!!

  21. Fergiemoto says:

    Happy Birthday, TBH! Hope it was fun!
    What day is Better Half’s birthday? I’m just wondering if it’s on the same day as mine.
    A sushi dinner would be very high on my list for dinner.

  22. fgassette says:

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY! I love how you celebrate!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

