International Women’s Day

Today, March 8, is International Women’s Day. This year the focus is on ending violence against women, which is a human rights violation that affects 7 in 10 women in the world. Below I’ve listed some startling statistics. Please take a moment and read them. I know they aren’t uplifting. In fact they are downright depressing.

* As many as 1 in 4 women experience physical or sexual violence during pregnancy.

* Worldwide, up to 50% of sexual assaults are committed against girls under the age of 16.

*Over 60 million girls worldwide are child brides, married before the age of 18.

*More than 100 million girls are ‘missing’ due to prenatal sex selection.

* Approximately 250,000 to 500,000 women and girls were raped in the 1994 Rwandan genocide.

*603 million women live in countries where domestic violence is not yet considered a crime.

*Up to 7 in 10 women in the world report having experienced physical and/or sexual violence at some point in their lifetime.

*Women and girls make up 80% of the estimated 800,000 people trafficked across national borders annually, with 79% of them trafficked for sexual exploitation.

*Approximately 100-140 million girls and women in the world have experienced female genital mutilation/cutting.

Source for the above facts

The song, “One Woman”, was written by UN Women, an organization fighting for women and girls worldwide. Hop over to their website and give it a listen. All of us can work together to raise awareness and hopefully we can end this violence. Thank you for your attention today.

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to International Women’s Day

  1. lazybill says:

    Reblogged this on Lazy Bill and commented:
    These are grievous statistics which many people throughout the world, I imagine, wouldn’t be aware of. Even though I am male, the patriarchy which has developed throughout the world for thousands of years has barely moved on in spite of the supposed enlightened era we live in. This is why it is as equally important for men to be feminists as it is women.

    • TBM says:

      Thanks Bill and I agree, men can and should be ardent feminists as well. This violence affects all of us. None of us want to see our mothers, daughters, sisters, wives, friends, or loved ones treated this way. The violence against women has to stop. Thank you for your support and reblogging this post. Awareness is so important.

  2. I am woman, hear me roar!! Do you temember that song by Helen Reddy? It says it all!!

  3. bocafrau says:

    Not a happy thought on a day that is supposed to celebrate women, isn’t it? Sad, sad statistics.

  4. Not a happy way to start the weekend, but an important one. Never a bad idea to remind ourselves of the violence that not only goes on around the world but that violence also happens in our own neighborhoods. Anything that may help put and end to this, even if it is just one person at a time that we can reach through our own efforts or through helping fund the efforts of others is more than worth it.

    • TBM says:

      Yes. As much as we don’t want to think about it, this stuff goes on all over the world, even in our own neighborhoods. And it all starts with helping one. I have friends and loved one who have have been victims of violence. It’s upsetting to think about, but I can’t just look the other way. Things have to change and all of us can work together to bring about that change.

  5. fgassette says:

    Shinning the light on terrible abuses helps to eliminate them. Awareness brings knowledge. Knowledge is powerful. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  6. petit4chocolatier says:

    Wonderful post! Thank you!! I am going to check out their website 🙂

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    Tough bit of statistics, but a dose of reality.

  8. Emma says:

    I’ve just taken my children to the cinema where we watched Wadjda. It’s a film from Saudi-Arabia about a twelve years old girl who wants a bike. But girls don’t ride bikes. It’s not blatantly a militant film but it shows the way of living in this country and the lack of freedom the women and the girls have. My children were floored and had a lot of questions: why couldn’t the girls laugh out loud? Why do they have to go inside when men can see them? Why are there only men on Wadjda’s family tree? Why does the mother need a chauffeur? etc…

    It’s an excellent way to rise awareness to the cause of women. It’s a simple story but the everyday life showed there is a first step for children into feminism.

    • TBM says:

      I should watch the film, sounds like a eye-opening experience. I think it’s great that you took your kids. What a great introduction to feminism and it sounds like it prompted them to explore by asking questions. That’s awesome. It’s never to early to learn about the world we live in. And thanks for the movie tip. I’ll keep an eye out for it. Have a wonderful weekend Emma!

  9. Wow! This is a horrible situation. I had no idea it was so pervasive.

  10. The Hook says:

    Thank you fo enlightening me, my friend.

  11. sued51 says:

    Terrible statistics, but they need to be read and heard…thanks for posting…

  12. Beth Ann says:

    Hard to read those statistics but important to be aware of them! Thanks for the post —sharing it!

  13. Kim, over at My Inner Chick, has dedicated her blog to her sister whose unnecessary death happened at the hands of someone she once loved. Your statistics and her story remind us all of the seriousness of this. Thanks.

  14. pattisj says:

    Thanks for sharing these devastating statistics that affect all of us.

  15. It’s heartbreaking and we can’t hide away and pretend it’s not happening.

  16. Pingback: 3-8-13 International Women’s Day (Travel Theme) | The Quotidian Hudson

  17. dadirri7 says:

    so very sad, that is why we are all continuing to raise awareness and must never give in to that heinous ‘male headship’ notion that is used to justify violence, abuse and discrimination all over the world …

  18. Fergiemoto says:

    How horrible! Those statistics are appalling!

  19. Novroz says:

    the statistic is very sad … why do women often become the victim 😦
    I hope things will get better in the future

  20. Some eye-opening facts, indeed. Have you read the book Half the Sky? The authors take you on an incredible journey to countries around the world where many women are still struggling to gain footing in communities where men see them as unworthy. It made me grateful to have all of the opportunities I had and made me want to give back in some way. That’s why I participate in Kiva as much as possible.

    • TBM says:

      I’ll look for the book. I’m always amazed when I read some of the books or watch documentaries. And yes, we should appreciate our opportunities and give back when we can.

  21. jasminmeii says:

    Reblogged this on mybottomlessstomach and commented:
    I believe that women all over the world should be empowered – in every sense of the word. Especially in the modern world, people should strive not just to eliminate gender discrimination but to adjust every man’s philosophy that women should be loved, cared for and respected. I support the Women’s day!

  22. thirdeyemom says:

    Great post! Isn’t it hard to understand it all? I feel so incredibly thankful that I’m married to a wonderful man that respects me, loves me and is my best friend. So much violence against women even happens here in the US. I can’t tell you how many women that are close to me have been raped. Scary.

    • TBM says:

      It’s terrifying how much violence is inflicted on women all over the world. Even in our own neighborhoods–that’s why it’s so important that all of us raise awareness. I loved seeing the Guatemalan men in your photos supporting their women. That’s a huge step!

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

