Another plea for the oranugtans

Yesterday I posted about the threat to orangutans in Indonesia. Today I want to highlight their plight once more. I visited the AVAAZ website and saw that they have over one million votes. That’s great. Now their goal is 1,250,000. Let’s help them reach it. Below you will find more photos from my visit to an orangutan sanctuary in Sepilok, Malaysia. Soon I’ll tell you more about my visit. For now I hope you enjoy the photos below and if you have the time, please visit their site and sign the petition. Thanks!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Another plea for the oranugtans

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    Well said … and thanks for the captions!

  2. Hey, I didn’t know you could click on a photo and see a caption LOL! How did you do this collage thingy with the captions?

    • TBM says:

      Really, you are asking me a techy question. Give me a moment to enjoy this. Okay, when you upload the photos (I usually add all the photos for one posting at the same time) before I insert them I click on the photo and then add a caption and a description. I do this for all the ones I want a caption for. then click on all the photos you want in the gallery and click create gallery, on the left. Then you should be able to follow the directions, ie how many columns and how you want them displayed. Give it a go and see if it works. And you can ask me more questions and I’ll do my best to answer them–remember though, you are the tech expert so in a day or so you will be teaching me new things.

      • I thought you might like me asking you for techy advice LOL!! Seriously though, I have never noticed the gallery option. That’s pretty cool. As far as the captions go, when you post a single photo with a caption, the caption always shows at the bottom of the photo. The only reason I knew to click on the pictures for the captions in your gallery was because of the first person who commented. I’m going to have to try this feature :).

      • TBM says:

        I’m not sure how I discovered the function–trust me, it was probably an accident. You know me. But thanks for making me feel smart today. That’s rare.

      • You wrote a book, so I will always think you are very smart :).

      • TBM says:

        LOL, good to know. I’m reading today on how to publish it and such. Now I don’t feel so smart–I wish I could pop over and we could figure out all the tech stuff 🙂

      • I know – too bad we are so far apart :(. I always love to help with techy stuff, and just think of all the organizing I could teach you if we lived in the same city!!

      • TBM says:

        I would be able to find matching pairs of socks and stop lying that I do it to be cool.

  3. I signed the petition. It was very neat to see all of the names signing the petition scrolling up. My company has taken an active part not to purchase any paper that comes from Indonesian pulp for exactly this reason. A lot of old growth forests are being destroyed to plant acacia trees which are fast growing, but many animals, including the Sumatran tiger are losing their habitat and they have nowhere else to go.

  4. The Hook says:

    Well done, my friend.

  5. IsobelandCat says:

    Wonderful creatures. Keep spreading the word!

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Done! I had how wildlife and nature are suffering! Thanks for letting us know.

  7. signed and passed on to friends. thanks for trick to the photos-sometimes i spend hours trying to get the little rascals where i want them.

    • TBM says:

      I have had days when I spent hours and hours and didn’t end up with one decent shot. Birds and butterflies are the hardest for me.

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

