Travel Photo of the Day (June 5)

This photo is a tough one, and I’m guessing 99% of you have no idea what I’m trying to show you. You aren’t alone. When our guide used his laser pointer no one in the boat saw what he saw. This drove our guide insane, so eventually we all said we did. Later that night, during dinner, all six of us confessed that we hadn’t seen the Boa constrictor. Yes, behind all of the leaves is a Boa. When I got home I downloaded all of the photos and guess what, I finally saw it. Sort of. Our guide wasn’t playing with us. Now this makes me wonder, how many critters were out there that we couldn’t see. And how in the world did our guide spot this?

If you look just above the green dot you can make out the snake.

If you look just above the green dot you can see the snake.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Travel Photo of the Day (June 5)

  1. Novroz says:

    oh!! I didn’t see anything either. Then after I read your explanation, I focused my eyea well and saw it…great hiding place

  2. found it without the dot–what I have in observation I counter with stupidity

  3. Wow! I cannot imagine how many critters go unnoticed. I’d rather unnoticed than right infront of me haha. If they aren’t bothering me I’m ok with that!

  4. Geoff W says:

    I actually saw the snake before I saw the green dot. I was like what green dot is he on about?

  5. Yah. Boa my arse. It’s somebody’s worn-out leopard print undies that have blown off a washing line somewhere.

  6. adinparadise says:

    I think I must have an eye for snakes, as I spotted it first time. 😀 Good job you were in a boat and not trudging through the undergrowth.

    • TBM says:

      Well the boat at one point was underneath it and I wasn’t too thrilled about it. But I think finding this one during a hike would be more terrifying.

  7. Yikes. I don’t like snakes at all and would be totally freaked out.

    • TBM says:

      You and the better half. I’m not a fan of them, but I find them interesting. Just as long as they aren’t too close.

  8. Anna says:

    Wow! It’s amazing how those creatures can hide. It was a good idea to take a picture even though you didn’t see anything special, well done! I remember hiking in Danum and I smelt a weird smell, the guide told me there’s a leopard near by (we were walking in it’s territory) but we never saw it. It was probably sitting in a tree watching us walk underneath it!

    • TBM says:

      a leopard! That would freak me out. There was this couple in Zambia that went on a walking safari and they came across a rhino. They guy said his heart almost burst out of his chest, but he couldn’t move until the rhino walked by. I would have died. Just fallen dead.

  9. It is so interesting (and scary) to think that there is so much stuff in this world we don’t notice! Thanks for sharing the photo!

  10. Fergiemoto says:

    Ok, I see its eye…or maybe that’s just one of its spots!

  11. lynnsbooksl says:

    It’s actually scary thinking about how many creatures actually go unnoticed!
    Lynn 😀

  12. Beautiful pattern on it. Always fascinated by how stunning the natural world can be – snakes have such variety 🙂

    • TBM says:

      They do. that’s why even though they freak me out, I’m still like, “Let me see … oh that’s scary … let me look closer … oh get it away!”

      • I’m happy enough around a constrictor – anything poisonous would probably have me running for the hills! I was afraid of our two for a while – kept having nightmares that they had got out and got in the bed with us! But until we got the pups our snakes were the most cuddly affectionate pets we had! They would sit like a labrador on your arm and watch Top Gear with us!

      • TBM says:

        Do you have photos of them watching the telly?

  13. I think it’s probably a good thing that you didn’t see half of the creatures that were out there. You may have had trouble sleeping at night :).

  14. nrlymrtl says:

    Very interesting. I saw the snake right away before reading the text of the post. And then I had to hunt for the green dot…..I see some of your other readers were the same. It would be interesting to use for a perception class – psychology or biology – and see what percentage see the snake no problem and what percent don’t.

  15. i like snakes, but i would never have spotted this one without the marker. in fact, i had trouble spotting it _with_ the marker.

  16. I wouldn’t have seen it if you hadn’t pointed it out. I think I would have been glad to have imagined the guide was making it up!

  17. In Tamil there is a saying, “If you say ‘snake’ even an army will shake (in fear)”
    I ‘think’ I can just about spot the snake unless it is a small branch which I think is the snake.
    Pythons and Cobras roll off our tongues easily like they were domestic lizards. But a
    Boa Constrictor?!! The name it self sounds sinister.

    • TBM says:

      I need to remember that saying, it’s wonderful! I really enjoy all the tidbits that you share. And Pythons and Cobras–just the words make me start to shake!

  18. pattisj says:

    I guess it’s his job to know what to look out for and whereabouts to find them?

    • TBM says:

      True, which is probably why I’m not a guide. I’d be too distracted and could never focus on the details. “Oh, bird!”

  19. Can just about see it…but I laughed as it reminded me of an episode of Friends (did you ever watch it, if not this will not make sense!) when Rachel is pregnant and has her scan and everyone can make ou the baby except her and in the end she pretends she can 😉

    • TBM says:

      I have seen that one. that’s perfect! I used to love Friends. When I moved here I was surprised that Friends is on all the time here. I’m finding that more are able to see the snake without any help. Maybe me fear is too powerful.

  20. T.F.Walsh says:

    Ahh, I see it now.

  21. The Hook says:

    Snakes in a tree!

  22. Well, if you didn’t say a boa is in the photo, I wouldn’t have seen it! Thanks for sharing it with us:-)

  23. samokan says:

    I have to stare at the picture to finally make out the snake..

  24. Jo Bryant says:

    That is amazing…the animal world is so fascinating

  25. ilargia64 says:

    I saw it without seeing the Green dot…And after I realized….I have to say I HATE snakes…When we were in Botswana our guide told us about a Black Mamba….I am glad I was unable to see it…If not I would still be running!!! I agree with you in one thing; guides are incredible…They are able to see anything, any track….Incredible indeed!!!

    • TBM says:

      When we were in Botswana it was winter so there wasn’t a decent chance that we would have seen a Black Mamba. Good thing. The better half would have flown home immediately. And yes, the guides are amazing. I wish I had their skill and knowledge.

  26. This is so fantastic! All your photos are making me move a trip to Malaysia closer and closer to the top of our travel list. It’s so amazing how they blend in – I would definitely be wondering how many other unseen things are around as well…actually, in my case it may be best that I don’t know. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      We loved Malaysia. We have two friends who live there and that’s how we decided to bump the country up the list. It was all fantastic–even the hidden creatures.

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

