Macaques Everywhere!

I’ve always loved monkeys. As a kid when I visited the zoo I wanted to head straight for the monkeys. I adore their antics and chatter. While in Malaysia we saw macaques everywhere. Each time the guide would say, “Oh, more macaques, let’s move on.” It reminded me when I was in Botswana and the guide would say, “Oh, more impalas, let’s move on.” Just for the record, I was thrilled to see impalas. They are beautiful creatures. But back to the macaques. I did my best to snap photos of these characters whenever I could.

Here they are at the Batu Caves:

Are you seeing double?

Along the Kinabatangan River

On the grounds of our lodge

Now I should note that these monkeys can be quite sneaky. Don’t leave anything outside  or they will steal it. Our guide kept referring to them as bandits. I kinda like that about them.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Travel Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Macaques Everywhere!

  1. Oooooh, I love monkeys!!!!! If I could pick any wild animal to have as a pet, it would be a monkey hands down :). Great shots TB! They’re so adorable.

  2. Colline says:

    They are certainly interesting to watch.

  3. Vishy says:

    Nice pictures, TBM! I like looking at monkeys from a distance, but like you have said they are naughty and sometimes intimidating creatures and steal things and sometimes even grab them from our hands.

    • TBM says:

      During our visit to the Batu caves we saw one steal a coconut from a tourist. It was a little terrifying being so close to them.

  4. Caroline says:

    We had a very unfortunate encounter with macaques in Sri Lanka. I’ve never run like that. I wasn’t the only one. Since I know they carry Hep B I’m even less inclined to get too close.
    But watching them from afar is fun.

    • TBM says:

      I don’t suggest messing with any wild animal and these guys are so quick and can be mean. From afar is good. We saw some really mean baboons in South Africa and it terrified me. Glad you weren’t injured

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    Here’s confirmation for your bandits.

  6. Beth Ann says:

    I love these guys even if they are sneaky!!! They are just taking advantage of opportunities, right?? Great pics as always!!!

  7. nrlymrtl says:

    When I was in college, I had a little adventure when I visited Nepal for a friend’s wedding. And he and his family and his bride’s family kept telling me not to trust the monkeys. Never trust the monkeys. Trust the street vendors, the folks in restaurants, the icecream seller, the taxi driver – but never the monkeys!

  8. winsomebella says:

    They are mighty cute bandits!

  9. Anna says:

    Oh the macaques! We saw one of them steal food from a restaurant in Malaysia. Fun monkeys, watching them play can be better than TV! By the way, after you posted the picture of the hiding snake I started going through my Borneo pictures more carefully. In Danum we were searching for gibbons but never saw any. Guess what was hiding in a tree in the background in one of my pictures!?

  10. What beautiful creatures–I can see why you took these photos. They’re not so adorable in that video, however. 😉

    • TBM says:

      Oh that poor lady in the video. The look of frustration and helplessness. I didn’t know in her country they were protected by a god.

  11. IsobelandCat says:

    Did you tell the guide you were more than happy to watch them?

  12. What a great series!

  13. lynnsbooks says:

    Yep, cute and furry, right up until the moment that they rob you!
    Lynn 😀

  14. Fergiemoto says:

    They look like such interesting characters! How cool to see these!

  15. They are beautiful! I can see why you like them.

  16. pattisj says:

    It would be amazing to see them in the wild. I’ve heard they will take anything they can.

  17. i think we’re so drawn to them because we’re kindred spirits-they’re just better athletes than we are.

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

