The Victoria Pub

002In our quest to explore different neighborhoods within London we’ve been finding new pubs as well. I call that a win-win. Last Sunday, we left the Mile End Tube station and made our way to Victoria Park. Along the way, we spotted The Victoria. Granted we hadn’t been walking all that long, but I still wanted to hop in and try it. Does one really need a reason to go to a pub? I think not.

This pub is much bigger than the typical pubs I’ve visited. And it has character. Actually, I’m not sure how to describe the inside. It’s a hodgepodge of artwork, stuffed animals (I’m assuming real), and a plethora of leather couches and chairs.

 

If you forgot to bring a book, no worries. There’s plenty to read in the bathroom. At least in the women’s bathroom. I did snap a photo of the men’s bathroom from the hallway since I thought the Horror sign was funny. 

We visited a little after 1 p.m. and it had just opened. The staff was friendly and completely relaxed. After they served us drinks, they played ping pong. I love that the pub has a ping pong table. Only two other patrons were present. Some people may be put off by the relaxed attitude of the bartenders. Personally, I don’t care. As long as they are available when I order my drink and are nice that’s all that matters to me.

I noticed a stage in the pub and I wonder how lively it gets on Friday and Saturday nights. We had just had breakfast so I didn’t order anything for lunch. However, the Jalapen’Oh! Shit burger with a beef burger patti stuffed with cream cheese and jalapenos did sound tasty. And just so you know, everything is served in paper bags. As I said, this is not a posh pub.

Overall, I liked this pub. It isn’t the cleanest place I’ve been too. Many of the leather couches have seen better days. But I liked the feel of it. If I lived closer I have a feeling I would go occasionally. I give the pub 3.5 stars our of 5. 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Weekly Pub and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Victoria Pub

  1. Boy, somebody had an imagination when they put that place together. It looks like a fun place :).

  2. It sounds really fun and quirky!

  3. Frank says:

    Nice lady in the grass skirt! .. That burger seems a bit too hot for my taste …. so how was the beer?

    BTW – Last wee a friend and I went to get a burger at one of my fav spots … which I think you would love. I had a particular burger in mind, and to my dismay, the menu changed thus it was no more.

    • TBM says:

      The beer was tasty. Unfortunately I lost my scrap of paper that I scribbled the name on (this wasn’t the only pub stop that day). Tonight, I’ll ask the Better Half which type I sampled and will report back. The Better Half never forgets the name of a beer. If I’m ever in your area I’ll ask for the name of the burger joint. Did you ask the restaurant if it was possible to conjure up the one you had your heart set on? Sometimes that works for me, but only sometimes.

  4. fgassette says:

    A place with a lot of character, I can see why it is hard to keep clean.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • TBM says:

      I wouldn’t want to dust all of it. I have a hard time keeping up with my bookshelves and knick-knacks and trust me, I don’t have nearly as many as this place.

  5. bulldog says:

    Another hard day at the office…lol

  6. restlessjo says:

    Another fun-packed Friday night! Have one for me. 🙂

  7. adinparadise says:

    Oh my goodness…..what a hotch potch of stuff. Someone really should tell that lady that her bikini top is a few sizes too small. I’m sure the ‘HORROR’ sign on the men’s door is very appropriate. 😆

  8. T.F.Walsh says:

    How awesome… I loved the photos.

  9. Vishy says:

    Nice pub review, TBM! It is nice to know that though the pub wasn’t sophisticated, you still liked it. One of my favourite pubs was like that – not very sophisticated but it had a warm atmosphere and I liked it. The reading material in the bathroom door / wall is quite interesting!

  10. A pub with a ping-pong table? Yes, please. There’s a bar in my neighborhood that has a bocce court inside. It’s random and fun for NYC where space is a premium.

  11. Exciting place! You get to drink and discover new , interesting stuff.

  12. The Guat says:

    You’re right. You never need a reason to visit a pub. The existence of one is reason enough, especially one with all that character. I hadn’t seen a ping pong table in any bars/pubs I’ve been to, that definitely would have been cool.

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

