Celebrating Away From Home

Today is the 4th of July in the States. Even though we live in London, we still try to celebrate all the American holidays. Tonight we’ll lift a glass in a salute to the US. Instead of having one travel photo today, here are some photos from our trips in our home country. Scroll over the photo to see where the pictures were taken. Happy 4th of July!

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Travel Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Celebrating Away From Home

  1. niasunset says:

    Happy 4th dear TBM, love, nia

  2. thirdeyemom says:

    Cool post! Happy 4th from across the pond! πŸ™‚

  3. frizztext says:

    Happy 4th of July to you – and you composed a nice tribute gallery to your country though living far away …

  4. I want to be in Cape Ann..Right Now!!! Happy 4th July to you both….

  5. restlessjo says:

    No place like home! Cape Ann looks lovely. Happy July 4th to you. πŸ™‚

  6. lynnsbooks says:

    Have a great day.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

  7. What a wonderful collection of memories from home. I know you’re probably in bed by now, but Happy 4th of July my friend!!!

  8. Jo Bryant says:

    Cape Ann looks pretty good to me

    • TBM says:

      When we lived in Boston we would drive up and stay for a weekend. Miles loved running on the beach and Att loved that the hotel was close enough to the water so he could see and hear it from our balcony. We would sit on the balcony, have some beers, order pizza and Chinese and watch the ocean. We always went in the off season so it was colder, but we had the place to ourselves. I miss those weekends.

  9. bulldog says:

    Hope you had a great celebration TBM… I do love the photos…

  10. Novroz says:

    Happy 4th of July TBM πŸ™‚

  11. T.F.Walsh says:

    Gorgeous photos… happy 4th July.

  12. Sartenada says:

    Wow, what a lovely set of photos. All of Your photos are so admirable. I tied to select one of my favorite among them – New York City skyline.

  13. Hope you had a wonderful 4th!

  14. Fergiemoto says:

    A big salute back to you!
    You have posted a great tribute, and I especially like the sunset photo!
    It’s awesome that you still celebrate the U.S. holidays!

    • TBM says:

      We do our best. We have a few American friends who also do the same thing. Sometimes it’s hard to be away and celebrating these holidays helps us feel connected.

  15. Vishy says:

    Beautiful pictures, TBM! I thought I will say that I liked the pictures of Mark Twain’s house and Harriet Beecher Stowe’s house, but then I saw pictures of Louisa May Alcott’s house, Walden pond, the House of the Seven Gables, Sleepy Hollow πŸ™‚ All of them are beautiful! Hope you had a wonderful July 4th!

    • TBM says:

      We’ve been lucky and seem some beautiful places in the US. Since I’m partial to writers we spent a lot of time hunting down homes to visit. Now I track down writers in London.

  16. Caroline says:

    How I would love to visit all of these places.
    Hope you had a great 4th of July.

    • TBM says:

      I hope you do. If you ever go to any of these areas let me know so I can share some tips. I’m not an expert, but I love some of these cities and can share some stuff. We had a lovely day. Thanks, Caroline.

  17. great pictures! i hope you had a fun 4th πŸ™‚

  18. A lovely collection of photos. (I like the way the captions pop up when I mouse over. Cool!)
    Hope you had a nice 4th!

    Watching Wimbledon live online. They will go bonkers if Murray wins. πŸ™‚

  19. The Guat says:

    Nice! I’m liking the baseball photo the best. πŸ™‚

  20. pattisj says:

    I want to live in Mark Twain’s house! Nice tour, NY skyline is one of the best shots I’ve ever seen of it.

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

