UK Bloggers Are You Feeling Unwanted

Here’s the deal folks. I’m still having issues commenting on most blogs. If you’ve noticed my absence, please accept my apology. Last week I was diligent about emailing bloggers to ask them to look in their spam folder. This week the task is becoming daunting. I follow many blogs.

It seems the issue, according to this forum, is affecting bloggers based in the UK. And many bloggers are experiencing difficulties. My goal today is not to bash WordPress or Akismet. Things happen. I do wish there was more communication from the beginning, but I also understand that there are millions of blogs and bloggers. Patience has never been my virtue. I’m sharing this information in case some of you are having the same problem but you don’t know where to turn. If you suspect that your comments are being marked as spam (and you are not a spammer) visit this forum for information.

I’ve been struggling with this problem for a week now. It seems that it may take another week to work it out completely. I hope not since I miss talking with all of you. Comments make blogging fun. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading your posts and seeing your photos, but I feel like the posts are the starting point. The comments may veer in different directions and that’s what I love. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this matter will be resolved for all of us soon.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to UK Bloggers Are You Feeling Unwanted

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Keeping my fingers and toes crossed that this gets worked out soon!!!! It is so frustrating when the blog world does not work the way we want it to!!!! I am getting your comments again so I guess after I checked the spam and put them in the right place it fixed it!!!

    • TBM says:

      It really is frustrating. So are if a blogger goes into their spam folder and says that I am not spam then I can comment again. However, I have heard others say that it works temporarily. Hopefully that won’t be the case. Let’s just hope they fix it completely.

  2. That is a shame but keep your chin up. This is not a problem WP wants to have. Hope to speak with you soon!

  3. Of course, now they always moderate me when I speak to your blog. Did you change those settings by chance?

    • TBM says:

      I did change it on my end when I was having problems with some comments. I probably should change it back. Right now I don’t want to mess with the mojo!

  4. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] My friend, Alex is based in the UK and this isn’t happening to him. By the way, a few of the Americans are experiencing the same issue that you have mentioned.

    • TBM says:

      Thanks for letting me know that it’s hopped the pond. I feel for Alex and for all of those dealing with this. I really hope it doesn’t spread further since it is such a pain and I would hate for others to go through it.

  5. What a bummer! I did find out why I had that stupid “1” next to my comments. It was an older comment from you that had been marked for moderation–probably around the time this mess started. Your comments were okayed months ago, so it shouldn’t have happened, but there you are. Hopefully everything will be OK now.

  6. bulldog says:

    You no longer appear in my spam notice but then I don’t remember if you’re commenting on my posts… But I check the spam daily as you are not alone.. to me the problem seems resolved…

    • TBM says:

      I try to check my spam every day as well since I know this is a recurring problem for many bloggers. I’m glad it’s resolved on your end! I wish all bloggers would check their spam–that would make this situation easier to handle.

  7. I don’t comment anything like as often as I should on the blogs I read but missing out bon last week’s mystery photo fun was irritating, I’ll follow this battle with interest.

    P.S. I started your book this morning, thoroughly enjoying it so far.

    • TBM says:

      I know! We need to comment freely for mystery photo madness!

      So glad that you are enjoying the book. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts. Hope you like the rest of it 🙂

  8. Hope it gets worked out TBM. It has to be beyond frustrating. My notification button has been wonky and misbehaving for weeks and I can’t stay signed in to comment now.

  9. lynnsbooks says:

    Yep, I’m getting your comments now. I ‘unspammed’ the first one and now it’s all okey dokey!
    Lynn 😀

    • TBM says:

      Keeping my fingers crossed that I won’t have any other issues with your blog. I have to keep up on all the series you read!

  10. Aw, what a bloody hassle for you. Let’s hope they get that sorted out sharpish. Your comments seem to be getting through to me fine ever since I forcefully disentangled you from the dancing bears.

  11. Colline says:

    I check my spam folder from time to time – it does help to see if there is anyone who has been regaled to bin.

  12. calmgrove says:

    Well put. I’ve just posted something along the same lines… http://wp.me/s2oNj1-spam

  13. poppytump says:

    Just adding my support for you and your blog TBM and to say I don’t know why on earth it’s all gone pear shaped 😦 no rhyme or reason ….
    xx

    • TBM says:

      At least they are addressing the issue now. When I first tried to contact them all I heard was silence and that was maddening.

  14. Fergiemoto says:

    Oh dear, I’m so sorry you are still having problems. How very frustrating, and I hope it gets resolved soon.

  15. I’ll check my spam filter. I do find that sometimes people end up there, usually if they have included more than one link in their post. Hope this gets rectified soon.

  16. beckyday6 says:

    Unfortunately like you I am still experiencing the same commenting difficulties. I must admit I was expecting it to be sorted out by now. 😦 It is so frustrating, I come across great new blogs every day but can’t comment on them as I know I will go to spam. Irritating!!

    I am just about to contact them directly via support@akismet.com I have been reading through the forum, thank you so much for the link.

    • TBM says:

      I heard from Akismet yesterday and I’ve noticed some improvement. I hope you don’t have to wait much longer since it has been going on for some time. I wish you the best of luck!

  17. Frank says:

    Remain patient and diligent. If memory serves me correctly, I was stuck in that loop for weeks!

  18. bocafrau says:

    This can get so frustrating. It seems every time I do a WP update my comments go to spam for a while until things even out again. Hope it’ll be fixed soon.

  19. only poker and penises in my spam folder, so we’re all good here LMAO!!

  20. thirdeyemom says:

    This is so odd! I hope WordPress resolves it soon! How frustrating.

    • TBM says:

      I think progress is being made. Fingers crossed!

      • thirdeyemom says:

        So glad they fixed it! Now if only they could fix my duplicate emails of posts. A few other bloggers have the same issue as I’ve seen it in my inbox!

      • TBM says:

        Have you or others opened up a forum. That’s one of the things that helped us–we all communicated that way and on each other’s blogs. I’m sorry you are having difficulties. it’s no fun!

      • thirdeyemom says:

        Just catching up now. WP recommended I try a different browser and so far, so good. We’ll see what happens over the next few posts and if it is solved, I’ll be thrilled! 🙂

  21. samokan says:

    You got into my spam folder once only and don’t worry I always check spam folders too.
    I hope the problem will be resolve soon. I love reading comments 🙂 and writing them every now and then 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I don’t want to jinx anything, but I think the problem may be over soon for me. Now people have to moderate my comments–but that’s progress!

  22. paulaacton says:

    I have had no problem in fact I had the opposite for a few days where it was asking me to moderate on blatantly spam comments

  23. Vishy says:

    I am sorry this is continuing, TBM. Hope the problem gets resolved soon.

  24. Geoff W says:

    What’s interesting is that in addition to your being spammed a lot of spammed is being approved on my blog at least. They really must’ve just flipped a switch or something.

  25. Lucid Gypsy says:

    You didn’t go into my spam but you haven’t beenin my reader for a while. Just unfollowed and refollowed.

  26. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Oh and its great to see your photo!

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

