Travel Photos of the Week: Colorado

This week’s inspiration for my travel photo collage is the Super Bowl. Yes, I know, the Broncos lost. Lost big time. We were so excited for the big game and made homemade salsa, grilled some steaks, and stayed up late on Sunday to watch, certain that Peyton Manning would lead the Broncos to a victory. Oh boy, were we wrong. For those who didn’t watch and haven’t heard, the Broncos were killed by the Seattle Seahawks: 43-8. Ouch!

Oh well, there’s always next year. Thinking of Colorado has made me a bit homesick. I lived in the colorful state for fifteen years. Unfortunately I don’t have many photos since I was broke for many of those years. I was able to dig up a few. Scroll over the photos for descriptions.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Travel Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Travel Photos of the Week: Colorado

  1. Gorgeous and I especially love that last shot!

  2. I’ve only been to Colorado once, and I loved it there. So beautiful 🙂

  3. I’m planning to go to Idaho and Montana in September, but Colorado seems like a great destination too!

  4. restlessjo says:

    Sorry, TBM! (on all counts 🙂 )

  5. TonyJ2 says:

    Lovely shots. In this small world I have been to Coopersmith’s in Fort Collins. Went to a conference at the Hilton, but spent the nights I town checking out ‘the micro brewery capital’ of the US.
    Was lucky enough to be taken up to Estes Park area in the Front Range.
    Loved it.

    • TBM says:

      Estes is a fun place. I love the National Park and then the town is so quaint. Did you see the elk? And trust me, I do miss the micro breweries.

  6. ilargia64 says:

    Beautiful!!! I have never been to Colorado…C. said to me it is very cold in Winter!
    Poor Peyton has had enough I think…Too many years and too many ops….I think he has done everything and more! He needs and deserves a rest…It is important to know when to retire, do not think?

    • TBM says:

      It can be cold in the winter, however, I thought Boston had more brutal winters than Colorado. I’m not sure what Peyton will do. He’s still so good and I wondering if he wants to finish on a high note. But he’s also so banged up I couldn’t blame him for retiring. It’s a tough call.

  7. So how do you watch the Super Bowl in London?

    • TBM says:

      They’re trying to make the NFL popular here. Next year, three games will be played in London. And every Sunday they show two games live on one of the sports channels. we don’t get to pick and choose the games but at least we can stay on top of it somewhat. Since the Broncos were playing so well last season they showed a lot of their games.

  8. Jo Bryant says:

    love the ghost wall…what I would give to see that myself

  9. I love Colorado too. That last shot is my favorite.
    I’m still in shock that Peyton lost, but he has really struggled in the post-season, hasn’t he? I agree it might be retirement time.

    • TBM says:

      Poor Peyton–I hope he isn’t remembered for his post-season flops. He’s so good.

      You’d love Fort Collins. You can find these ghost ads everywhere and it’s such a cute city.

  10. pattisj says:

    Yes, I’m still in mourning for my beloved Broncos. It’s sad when a team just can’t get it together. They are much better than that. It sounds like you had good food and friends to enjoy.

    • TBM says:

      They really couldn’t do much of anything that game. Right from the very first play I said, “Uh oh.” That just set the tone. I have to give it to Seattle–great defense. I hadn’t watched too many of their games since it’s hard here so I didn’t know what to expect.

  11. I think it’s great you’ve even got pictures…it’s not often we take pictures of things we see every day & take for granted 🙂 looks a bit different weather wise to London lol!

    • TBM says:

      That’s very true. I’m trying to remember that now, and to appreciate the now more than ever. Oh I do miss the deep blue skies. Another gray day in London.

  12. Nice shots, terrible game 😦 Was rooting for the Broncos, too.

  13. Sometimes a few photos can be good enough. In this instance, they’re pretty darn good, too!

  14. Rorybore says:

    I have always, always wanted to go to Colorado. Big sky country, mountains, beautiful lakes and rivers. fly fishing. trail riding. whatever — just beautiful landscapes. And of course winter is not going to scare me away one bit – bring it! Sure I could handle a few cold ones on a patio somewhere too. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      Yes Colorado offers that and much more. The white water rafting is pretty cool as well. I used to go hiking before work. I’d be out there at five am with a head lamp and saw so many beautiful animals. Gosh I miss it. They like their beer Rocky Mountain cold, just ask Coors. And lots of wonderful microbreweries.

  15. Lou says:

    Currently living in Denver now. Loving the pics! Not loving the broncos losing tho.

  16. Novroz says:

    That’s one brave fox!! and cute.

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

