A Pub, The Color Purple, and Life in London

It’s been a while since I shared a pub on the blog. My quest to visit all the pubs in London is still going strong, but it’s getting a bit hard to share all of them here. Some of them aren’t worth mentioning. Sometimes I forget to snap photos (this usually happens when I visit more than one pub in a day).

A few weekends ago, we found a delightful pub, The Ship and Shovell, near Trafalgar Square. Luckily when we ordered our first round a table opened up and we ended up enjoying chili cheese cheese fries and another round of beers. Both of us were starving so I didn’t take a photo of the fries. They were a tasty treat. This pub is near The Sherlock Holmes pub and I found it to be far superior, with less tourists. Of course I don’t mean you should skip the Sherlock pub. Afterwards, though, head to this one.

Book Update: 

I finally read The Color Purple by Alice Walker. I avoided this book for years, knowing it would be a difficult read for me. The Better Half loves the movie and we’ve watched it together once all the way through. The Better Half has watched it a few times since then, but I always find something else to do. Both the film and book are fantastic, but talk about an emotional roller coaster.

Saying that, I ended up enjoying the book more than I anticipated. In fact, I thought I would have to force myself to sit down and read it so I could mark it off my 1001 list. Even though the subject matter was difficult, the writing was engaging and the historian in me loved the letter format. What can I say, I’m a nerd. I’ve read 97 books from the 1001 list. Still a long way to go, but I’m starting to feel like I’m making a dent in the list.

I’m a bit too lazy today to share some travel photos, but here are some random photos I’ve taken in London over the past month. I know it’s only Thursday, but we decided to take tomorrow off and I’ll be starting my three-day weekend soon. There’s a cider in the fridge calling my name. Have a wonderful weekend folks.

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books, Pub of the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to A Pub, The Color Purple, and Life in London

  1. like you I have a hard time reading novels that recount difficult times–but I remember liking the Colour Purple–thanks for the pub update–should I ever make it across the pond I will remember it–though I would have liked a shot of the fries–they sound good. So how are you doing my friend–long time no see, and it is mostly my fault–

  2. poppytump says:

    Good to see you TBM glad to see you are still on the case … pear cider ? very refreshing !
    Have a great weekend and remember to re stock the fridge 😉
    Miles certainly knows how to chill out .. one softie … bliss zzzz

    • TBM says:

      Pear cider is my fave. Regular cider is just dandy, but add pear and I can’t refuse. Fridge is stocked and just in case, a pub is right around the corner. Miles is a pro at relaxing. We can all learn from him. Have a great weekend!

  3. Dude, is Miles eating one of those motorcyclists?

  4. Oooh that pub looks very colourful and cheery :). This will be our next meeting place when we come back over there ok? But wait, is that one of those icky dark ales? Please do not order me one of those. They’re disgusting LOL!!

  5. Is the duck a new addition to the Miles and Att duo? It looks like it could fit in well. I love the shot of Miles with a mouthful of purple bear (or as Mr Bunny Chow asked) “one of those motorcyclists”?

    • TBM says:

      This duck was very curious about me until he realized I didn’t have any food for him. Then he told me to quack off and found a kid with bread crumbs.

      Miles loves his purple bear! And the dude on the motorcycle, what the?

  6. Miles, dealing with the colour purple in his own way 😉

  7. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I hardly ever go to London and when I do its a quick family visit so I really enjoy your London posts!

  8. I find that I have avoided certain books, as well, but I’m not sure why. I don’t think it has to do with any kind of disturbing content. I’m going to give this some thought. Gosh, however, what a fascinating question to pose. I’d be curious to know the top 10 reasons–especially the ones that writers identify.

    Miles is such a cutie! Hope you all enjoy your long weekend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  9. Rorybore says:

    looks like a nice pub! and now I also feel I must try chili cheese fries! Poutine is big around here, but I don’t think I have seen the chili kind.
    The Color Purple is both an amazing book and film. The letter format is one of my favourite things too — but yes, it’s definitely an emotional journey.

    • TBM says:

      Come over. We can share some chili cheese fries.

      The letter format let me distance myself from the drama at times. I love novels that use this technique. Dracula is my favorite one, even though that included journal entries as well.

  10. nrlymrtl says:

    I haven’t read The Color Purple nor seen the movie…..but I guess I better do so since I miss the references to the story.

    Is that pear cider? Badger Pear Wood? Sigh….I wish we had pubs in the USA like you guys do in England.

  11. Geoff W says:

    The Color Purple really was such a powerful read. I’d avoided it as well for a long time but as soon as I started I couldn’t put it down.

  12. Looks like you’re making a good dent in visiting all the pubs. Maybe you should start a rating system with 5 ciders being the best. 🙂

    I see Miles has moved on from Red Ball to Purple Bear. Reggie has several stuffed dolls like that, but the moment he breaks the squeaker, he wants nothing to do with it.

    What’s up next on your reading list? Have a great long weekend!

    • TBM says:

      We can’t give Miles any stuffed toys with squeakers or he’ll obsess until he shreds the entire thing. Purple Bear has lasted the longest out of all his stuffed toys. Usually he just has bits that he carries around.

      The next book for my 1001 list is Junky. It’s interesting.

  13. Lovely to hear from you and what you’ve been up to but I have to confess I was most taken with the photo of Miles – bless!

  14. Novroz says:

    At least you can still read books. I hardly have time anymore

  15. aFrankAngle says:

    I miss you pub reviews … but hey … I imagine your time is limited. Cheers!

  16. Isobel says:

    Love the photo of Mikes and the bear!
    Cider, pubs… a country walk with a good lunch sto is calling.

  17. Speaking of the color purple, it seems that your sweet little pet is also a big fan of the color?

  18. Good to see you posting again!
    I don’t think I could read The Color Purple. Seeing the movie once was enough.
    How’s Miles doing??

    • TBM says:

      Miles is doing well. He’s getting older and he’s slowing down a bit, but he’s still his happy self. He just sleeps more. How is everyone on your end?

      • Good, thanks. Rocky sleeps all day long now, but is eating and doing OK otherwise. Will you be celebrating Thanksgiving over there this year?

      • TBM says:

        We usually have a nice meal in a pub and I think one close to us is having a special meal for Americans who want to celebrate the holiday. Rocky and Miles would get along well, as long as there’s enough room on the bed. Miles is a pro at sleeping these days.

  19. Letizia says:

    I love that you sometimes visit more than one pub a day 🙂

  20. reminds me of the temple bar in dublin!

Thanks for commenting, I would love to hear from you.

